

53 to be Honored as 'Best of the Best'

7 to Receive 'Extra Mile' Awards

(March 30) Fifty-three Transit Operations employees will be honored as the MTA's "Best of the Best," Saturday, at a banquet cosponsored by Transit Operations, Risk Management and System Safety and Security.

Forty-three Metro Bus operators were named to this year's honors list. Twenty-two of those operators earned the "Best of the Best" distinction for the second year. And for the first time, five Metro Rail operators and five mechanics were

chosen for the award.

Seven employees will receive "Extra Mile" awards for their acts of courage, selflessness or extraordinary service. They are Evelyn Davis, Edgardo Dimson, Eddie Gomez, Rosa Graciano, Jose Hill-Soto, Ralph Lee and Marco Sanchez.

To qualify as "Best of the Best," operators must have recorded no customer complaints, no lost-time injuries, no traffic accidents and no long-term leaves for the past five years. Mechanic selectees must have had perfect attendance, no lost-time injuries and no disciplinary actions for the past five years.

Each honoree will receive a commemorative plaque and pin and a bomber jacket with "Best of the Best" logo. Operators who earned their second honor will receive a gold Seiko railroad-approved watch engraved with the program logo.

SAFETY COURTESP BEST OF THE BEST 1995-2000 SERVICE			
Mechanics		Train operators	
Enrique Tovar Ike Allison To Chau Francisco Guzman Ted Loyo		Ronald Armijo William Jarvis Lewis Hawkins Robert Rodriguez Frederick Bagwell	
Bus operators			
Gabriel Benitez	Reginald Harris	Encarnacion Cabrera	

Robert Spears	Pete Avila	Sergio Chavez
Joe Barbosa	Rodolfo Cortez	Richard Munoz
Gregory Brown	Steven Kushner	Daniel Saldana
Luis Caceres	Albert Gallardo	Barron Simon
Leopoldo Cuevas	Raymond Guinn	Mario Cancio
Rick Brown	Bobby Johnson	Carlos Iglesias
Cecil Escalante	Ignacio Landa	Latonia Martinez
Cheryl Faheem-Horne,	Richard Lopez	Robert Richards
Delfino Rodriguez	George Novelo	Frank Aguilar
Margaret Sifuentes	Pedro Perez	Gene Freeman
Robert Wageman	David Singer	Teresa Gray
Edmundo Poblano	Mario Villegas	Francisco Sanabria
Yuko Sao	Earl Weingartner	Khanh Trinh
Johnny Hardwick	_	

Back to Bulletin Board