SERVICE SECTOR SPECIAL REPORT

Task Force Making Strides in Planning Service Sectors

> Task Force Roster

(Jan. 22, 2002) Scarcely six weeks into the process, the Service Sector Task Force has made great strides in developing the framework for the MTA's new service concept.



Task Force chair Cynthia Gibson, who also serves as staff director to Deputy CEO John Catoe, says goals have been established and many of the initial details are on paper.

Task Force subcommittees have been considering such matters as service sector staffing, the transition of administrative staff from the Gateway Headquarters into the service sectors and how community

Cynthia Gibson heads new Service Sector Task Force.

e representatives might participate in decision-making within a sector.

"It's going really well," says Gibson. "Because the timeline is so short, our accomplishments are happening simultaneously and very quickly." Currently, the first phase of implementation for the San Gabriel Valley Service Sector – divisions 3 and 9 – and the San Fernando Valley Service Sector – divisions 8 and 15 – is scheduled for July 1.

One of the most significant goals for the Task Force is the development of a draft service sector organizational chart. The Task Force currently is interviewing employees who work in departments that would support the sectors for their thoughts on how the sector staffs should be organized.

General managers will provide input

"They're really giving us some good input on how to build the org charts," says Gibson. Once the sector general managers are hired, they also will provide valuable guidance based on their past managerial and transportation experience.

The Roster		
Members of the Task Force	Cynthia Gibson, Carolyn Flowers, Manuella Abrahamian, Matt Barrett, Michael Brewer, Marion Colston-Fayyaz, Jon Hillmer, Rick Hittinger, Maria Reynolds and Andrea Burnside.	
Sub-committees		
Finance	Terry Matsumoto, Michelle Caldwell, Richard Davis, Frank Shapiro and Melissa Wang.	
Facilities/ Space Planning	Denise Longley, Don Ott, Velma Marshall, Brian Soto, Irma Licea, Joe Giba and Larry Fordan.	
Governance	Steve Carnevale, Michelle Jackson, Maria Guerra, Gary Clark , Joanne Kawai and Lynda Bybee.	
	Marc Littman, Lynda Bybee, Bill Heard, Helen Ortiz and	

Communication	Rich Morallo.
Staff Transition	Naomi Nightingale, Carolyn Flowers, Marion Colston- Fayyaz, Manuella Abrahamian, Brenda Diederichs, Barbara Olson-Bonk and Suzanne Lauver.
Planning/Timeline	Carolyn Flowers, Manuella Abrahamian, Andrea Burnside, Mike Brewer and Suzanne Lauver.
Planning/Scheduling	Jon Hillmer, Mike Brewer, Gary Spivak, Jim McLaughlin, Frank Schroder, Art Henry, Carol Silver and Mike Sieckert.

Back to Bulletin Board