Editor's Note: The Bus Roadeo will be held at Santa Anita Park just south of the I-210 Freeway, off Colorado Place at 285 W. Huntington Drive in Arcadia. Use Santa Anita Gate 6. Maps and directions to the park can be found on the Internet at <u>www.santaanita.com</u>.

30 Operators, 10 Maintenance Teams Set for MTA Roadeo article>



Team to Beat > CEO Roger Snoble presents 2002 trophy to winning South Bay Division mechanics team, from left, Javier Soria, Mina Ros and Luke Logan. Looking on: Competition organizer Steve Mullaly, center background, and, at right, General Manager Dana Coffey and South Bay Senior EMS Sergio Rubalcava. PHOTO: BILL HEARD

30 Operators, 10 Maintenance Teams Set for MTA Roadeo

(July 16, 2003) Thirty Metro Bus operators from a field of about 160 have survived a grueling preliminary competition to qualify for the 28th annual MTA Bus Roadeo, Saturday, July 19.

Maintenance teams representing nine operating divisions and the Regional Rebuild Center will compete in a separate event. The Roadeo, scheduled from 8 a.m. until 2 p.m., will be held at the Santa Anita Gate 6 parking lot in Arcadia.

Operators compiling the five highest scores in the prelims were Joe Acosta, Division 3, 617 points; Juan Navarro, Division 3, 607; Edwin Cerros, Division 2, 606; Luduvico Castro, Division 9, 600; and Mark Holland, Division 9, 594 points.

The remaining competitors, in order of scoring, are Jose Sierra, Division 2, 588; James Hazelitt, Division 10, 578; Brian Miles, Division 3, 576; Marcos Mejia-Portillo, Division 1, 569; Samuel Morales, Division 1, 568; Ramiro Mota, Division 1, 556; and Nipon Pasaphunthu, Division 3, 550 points.

Also, Julio Flores, Division 8, 554; Theodore Neill, Division 8, 536; Daniel Keosababian, Division 3, 534; Alex Reyes, Division 7, 523; Joaquin Barron-Hernandez, Division 5, 521; Rodolfo Cortez, Division 7, 519; Maximiliano De Angelis, Division 7, 516; Hugo Repreza, Division 15, 512; and Jorge Melendez, Division 7, 509 points.

Also, Hugo Mercado, Division 1, 502 points; Adolpho Chavez, Division 10, 501; Lawrence Tubbs, Division 2, 491; Ben Flores, Division 2, 490; Steve Vaden, Division 10, 489; Andre Burroughs, Division 7, 488; David Aguilar, Division 1, 487; and Juan Medrano, Division 9, 486 points.

Maintenance competitors

Teams scheduled to compete in the maintenance competition are

Division 1, Fred Hines, Gustavo Sanchez and Sergio Barron; Division 3, Tim Wong, Jose Gomez and Chris Hurtado; and Division 8, John Edrich, Naren Desai and Jesus Guerra.

Also, Division 10, Alan Wong, Doug Creveling and David Klinkenborg; Division 18, Javier Soria, Mina Ros and Luke Logan; Division 2, Juan Villalba, Andrew Filimaua and Ed Hernandez.

Also, Division 5, Andrew Warren Jr., Rommel Vargas and Frank Forde; Division 15, Julio Vargas, Henry Diaz and Angel Bustos; and from the RRC, Tony Herumin, Cal Tran and Robert Pfile.

Winners of the MTA Bus Roadeo will compete in the Southern California Regional Bus Roadeo, Sept. 6, in Chula Vista. Fifteen teams from area transit agencies are expected to compete.

Back to Bulletin Board