MYMETRO.NET Something news every day!



Home CEO Hotline **Viewpoint**

Classified Ads

Archives

Metro.net (web)

- Resources
- ▶ Safety
- ▶ <u>Pressroom</u> (web)
- ▶ CEO Hotline
- ▶ Metro Projects
- ▶ Facts at a Glance (web)
- ▶ Archives
- ▶ Events Calendar
- Research Center/ Library
- ▶ Metro Cafe (pdf)
- ▶ Metro Classifieds
- ▶ Retirement Round-up

Metro Info

- Strategic Plan (pdf)
- Org Chart (pdf)
- ▶ Policies
- ▶ Training
- ▶ Help Desk
- ▶ Intranet Policy

Need e-Help?

Call the Help Desk at 2-4357

E-Mail Webmaster

Mayor-Elect Antonio Villaraigosa to Set **Rapid Pace for Metro**

By ED SCANNELL

(June 29, 2005) Los Angeles Mayor-elect Antonio Villaraigosa, who will be sworn in as chairman of the Board of Directors in July, plans to set a rapid pace for Metro during his term in office.

"It's a challenging time at Metro, but also an ideal time to challenge Metro to raise its level of performance," said Villaraigosa. "I have an ambitious transportation agenda that includes a first-class bus system, an expanded rail system and less congested roadways to be implemented over the next decade-and-a-half."

"It will take all the discipline and energy we can muster to realize both this agency's shortterm agenda and its long-term vision, but we have to do it if we're to preserve and enhance mobility in Los Angeles," he added.



Los Angeles Mayor-elect Antonio Villaraigosa will be sworn in as chair of the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Board of Directors in July.

Villaraigosa will succeed Board Chairman Frank Roberts, who has served in the post since July, 2004. The new chairman will hold the position until June 30, 2006.

Former Assembly speaker

Villaraigosa was elected to the state Assembly in 1994 and was chosen Speaker of the Assembly in 1998. Most recently he served as LA City Councilmember for the 14th District and chaired the Council's transportation committee.

In August 2003, Villaraigosa was appointed to the Board by former Mayor James Hahn, a position he held until September 2004.

He also served on the board of the former SCRTD between July 1991 and June 1993 and as a Board alternate between July 1993 and June 1994.

The 13-member MTA Board is composed of the five LA County supervisors, four members appointed by the LA County City Selection Committee, and the Mayor of Los Angeles and three mayoral appointees. The position of Board chair rotates among the three groups.

Home | Phone Directory | Forms Online | FIS Online