44



5093 Rockvalley
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 9
(910) 377-8987
sbccog@southbaycities.org
www.southbaycities.org

RECEIVED

2005 NOV 28 PM 3 27

November 21, 2005

OFFICE OF THE CEO

The Honorable Antonio Villaraigosa, Chair & Members of the Board Los Angeles Metropolitan Transportation Authority 1 Gateway Plaza Los Angeles, California 90012

Re: Nominations for the Members of the South Bay Sector Governance Council

The South Bay Sector Governance Council has been in existence for three years now and has been extremely successful. The dedicated people on our council have worked with MTA staff to make changes in service to improve efficiency and coordination of transit services provided by the MTA.

The South Bay Cities Council of Governments (SBCCOG) takes its responsibility to nominate members to the council very seriously and with this letter we are submitting our nominees for the four seats expiring on the South Bay Sector Council. These nominees are recommended after receiving the unanimous approval of the SBCCOG Board of Directors at the meeting of November 17, 2005. They are Terisa Price, Curren Price and Margaret Hudson (re-appointments) and Devon Deming, Los Angeles World Airports Rideshare Coordinator (new appointment). The Board report on this item is attached with further information about the nominees and the selection process that we followed.

We request that you agendize the appointment of these representatives for your December meeting so that the South Bay Sector Council can be formally constituted in January 2006. Please notify us when the appointments are confirmed or if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Susan Y. Dever

SBCCOG Chair

Councilmember, Lomita

cc: Roger Snoble, CEO

John Catoe, Deputy CEO

Dana Coffey, South Bay Sector General Manager

Terisa Price, South Bay Sector Governance Council Chair &

SBCCOG Transit Working Group Chair

Enclosures -

LOCAL GOVERNMENTS IN ACTION

Carson El Segundo Gardena Hawthorne Hermosa Beach Inglewood Lawndale Lomita Los Angeles Manhattan Beach
Palos Verdea Estates Rancho Palos Verdea Redondo Beach Rolling Hills Rolling Hills Estates Torrance

ITEM #IV.B.

South Bay Cities Council of Governments

November 14, 2005

BOARD APPROVED 11/17/05

TO: Steering Committee

FROM: Jacki Bacharach, SBCCOG Executive Director

RE: MTA Service Sector Governance Council Nominations

The SBCCOG opened nominations for the four seats on the MTA South Bay Sector Governance Council which will expire in January 2006. Those seats are currently held by: Margaret Hudson, Curren Price, Terisa Price and Howard Sachar. Of the current members whose terms are expiring, only Howard Sachar declined being considered for re-appointment.

The deadline for nominations was Friday November 4 @ 5 pm. At that time, besides the 3 current members, the following names were submitted (bios attached):

- 1. Devon M. Deming, Rideshare Program Manager, LAWA
 - o Active transit rider
 - Employee Transportation Coordinator (ETC) for Los Angeles World Airports (LAWA)
- 2. William Latto, Jr. nominated by Supervisor Don Knabe & Howard Sachar
 - o Retired engineer with interest in alternate fuels re: the bus fleet

Although there are 4 vacancies, we have considered whether expanding the Council by 2 since the MTA Board has authorized council membership to be up to 9 members. It was decided that if expansion to 9 could achieve a broader representation of South Bay interests it should be considered.

The Steering Committee should review the nominations and make a recommendation to the Board which will then be submitted to the MTA Board for their approval.

Unfortunately, it is my understanding that the MTA requires an odd number of people i.e. 5, 7 or 9 members. We have very qualified nominees which, if all appointed, would increase the Board to 8 members and that is not possible.

RECOMMENDATION

Because the Sector Council must be either 7 or 9 members, the following nominees are recommended for nomination to the MTA:

- 1. Terisa Price-re-appointment
- 2. Curren Price re-appointment
- 3. Margaret Hudson re-appointment
- 4. Devon Deming representative of Employers in the South Bay who have transportation programs and a transit rider

The basis for this recommendation is that the three existing members have shown great dedication to their position on the Council and have served well. The one sector that has not been previously represented on the Council are the employers with rideshare programs. This recommendation would bring that perspective to the Board.

It is with regret that we cannot also nominated Mr. Latto. He was also nominated last year and he has been recommended by both Supervisor Don Knabe and Howard Sachar. Before the Steering Committee meeting I will be seeking confirmation from the MTA of the odd member number rule just to be sure.

For your information,

Current Members On The Council

- John Addleman submitted by PV Transit, S.B. Community Operator
 - Rolling Hills Estates Councilmember
 - Member of the PV Transit Board of Directors
- John McTaggart originally submitted by MAX, S.B. Community Operator
 - Former Rancho Palos Verdes City Councilman & Former Member of the MAX Board (South Bay commuter bus service)
- Lou Mitchell originally submitted by Councilmember Janice Hahn
 - President, Watts ACORN a non-profit community group
 - Co-Chair, L.A. Neighborhood Council for the area
 - Transit user

Terms Expiring For The Following:

- Teresa Price submitted by Torrance Transit
 - Redondo Beach Transit Manager
 - Representing South Bay Municipal Operators
- Curren Price submitted by Inglewood Mayor Dorn
 - Inglewood City Councilman
 - City with many transit riders
- Margaret Hudson submitted by Carson
 - Member, Carson Public Safety Commission
 - Transit user
 - Senior
- Howard Sachar
 - Submitted by Supervisors Knabe & Burke –
 - Community member, MTA Advisory Group & Redondo Beach Commissioner