

MINUTES/PROCEEDINGS

LOS ANGELES COUNTY METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
MTA Headquarters
3rd Floor - Board Room
One Gateway Plaza
Los Angeles

BUS RAPID TRANSIT WORKSHOP

July 19, 2001

Called to order at 2:35 P.M.

Directors Present:

John Fasana, Chair Michael Antonovich Hal Bernson Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Jose Legaspi Gloria Molina Pam O'Connor Beatrice Proo Jeff Walden Zev Yaroslavsky

> Chief Executive Officer - Julian Burke Board Secretary - Michele Jackson Ethics Officer - Karen Gorman Inspector General - Arthur Sinai General Counsel - County Counsel

- 1. RECEIVED the San Fernando Valley East-West Transit Corridor Draft Environmental Impact Statement/Environmental Impact Report (DEIS/R) for review and consideration.
- 2. CONFIRMED opposition to AB 425 (or any similar legislative effort in this regard) and supported separate actions to expedite the **Alameda Street** at Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) grade separation project, as follows:
 - A. support the transfer of the Alameda Street at PCH grade separation project from Caltrans to the Alameda Corridor Transportation Authority (ACTA);
 - B. urge ACTA, as part of the Alameda Street at PCH grade separation project development, to perform value engineering to potentially lower the project's cost;
 - C. authorize the CEO to commit to funding one-third of the project's \$40 million shortfall to a maximum of \$13.3 million from the MTA Call for Projects' expected deobligated funds or other appropriate funding sources; and
 - D. direct staff to work with ACTA, Caltrans, and the Los Angeles and Long Beach Port Authorities to find other funding sources as the project proceeds to complete its funding requirements, such as federal discretionary funds from the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century.
- 3. **Closed Session**: Conference with Legal Counsel Existing Litigation G.C. 54956.9 (a):

Tutor-Saliba-Perini, Case No. BC 123559

RECEIVED update in open session.

4. RECEIVED public comment.

Prepared by: Rhodona Enright Recording Secretary

Michele Jackson Board Secretary