

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 3, 2012

CONTACT: John Vigna (916) 319-2408

Speaker John A. Pérez Announces Assembly Leadership Positions and Committee Chairs for New Legislative Session

SACRAMENTO- Today Speaker John A. Pérez (D-Los Angeles) announced his Assembly leadership team and appointed committee chairs for the 2013-14 Regular Session.

"I'm pleased to announce the members of our outstanding leadership team and committee chairs," said Speaker Pérez. "This talented group represents the diversity of California and offers the leadership, working knowledge, and expertise needed to tackle the important issues facing our state."

The Speaker has made the following leadership and committee appointments for the 2013-14 Regular Session, which take effect today:

Speaker pro Tempore Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Majority Floor Leader Assistant Majority Floor Leader Majority Whip Democratic Whip **Democratic Whip** Democratic Caucus Chair **Rules** Committee Chair

Hon. Nora Campos Hon. Kevin Mullin Hon. Toni Atkins Hon. Anthony Rendon Hon. Chris R. Holden Hon. Jimmy Gomez Hon. V. Manuel Pérez Hon. Philip Y. Ting Hon. Nancy Skinner

Accountability and Administrative Review

Assemblymember Jim Frazier, Chair

Aging and Long-Term Care

Assemblymember Mariko Yamada, Chair

Agriculture

Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman, Chair

Appropriations

Assemblymember Mike Gatto, Chair

Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism and Internet Media

Assemblymember Ian C. Calderon, Chair

Banking and Finance Assemblymember Roger Dickinson, Chair

Budget Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services Assemblymember Holly J. Mitchell, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance Assemblymember Susan A. Bonilla, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Resources and Transportation Assemblymember Richard Bloom, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration Assemblymember Tom Daly, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety Assemblymember Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr., Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Budget Process, Oversight and Program Evaluation

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield, Chair

Business, Professions and Consumer Protection

Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon, Chair

Education

Assemblymember Joan Buchanan, Chair

Elections and Redistricting

Assemblymember Paul Fong, Chair

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

Assemblymember Luis A. Alejo, Chair

Governmental Organization

Assemblymember Isadore Hall III, Chair

<u>Health</u>

Assemblymember Richard Pan, Chair

Higher Education Assemblymember Das Williams, Chair

Housing and Community Development

Assemblymember Norma J. Torres, Chair

Human Services

Assemblymember Mark Stone, Chair

<u>Insurance</u> Assemblymember Henry T. Perea, Chair

Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy

Assemblymember Jose Medina, Chair

Judiciary

Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski, Chair

Labor and Employment

Assemblymember Roger Hernández, Chair

Local Government

Assemblymember Katcho Achadjian, Chair Assemblymember Marc Levine, Vice Chair

Natural Resources

Assemblymember Wesley Chesbro, Chair

Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security

Assemblymember Rob Bonta, Chair

Public Safety

Assemblymember Tom Ammiano, Chair

Revenue and Taxation

Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra, Chair

Rules

Assemblymember Nancy Skinner, Chair Assemblymember Scott Wilk, Vice Chair Assemblymember Franklin E. Bigelow Assemblymember Cheryl R. Brown Assemblymember Ed Chau Assemblymember Tim Donnelly Assemblymember Curt Hagman Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian Assemblymember V. Manuel Pérez Assemblymember Bill Quirk Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber Assemblymember Ken Cooley, Democratic Alternate Assemblymember Marie Waldron, Republican Alternate

Transportation

Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal, Chair

<u>Utilities and Commerce</u> Assemblymember Steven Bradford, Chair

<u>Veterans Affairs</u> Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi, Chair

<u>Water, Parks and Wildlife</u> Assemblymember Ben Hueso, Chair

Joint Legislative Audit Assemblymember Adam C. Gray, Chair

<u>Assembly Legislative Ethics</u> Assemblymember Cristina Garcia, Co-Chair Assemblymember Allan R. Mansoor, Co-Chair

<u>Select Committee on Agriculture and the Environment</u> Assemblymember Marc Levine, Chair

Select Committee on Community Colleges

Assemblymember Steve Fox, Chair

Select Committee on Job Creation for the New Economy

Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva, Chair

<u>Select Committee on Regional Approaches to Addressing the State's Water Crisis</u> Assemblymember Rudy Salas, Jr., Chair

Select Committee on Regional Transportation Solutions Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva, Chair

<u>Select Committee Workforce and Vocational Development in California</u> Assemblymember Rudy Salas, Jr., Chair

Website of Speaker John A. Pérez: www.asmdc.org/speaker