

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dec. 21, 2018

CONTACT: Lizelda.Lopez@sen.ca.gov

Senate Leader Atkins Announces Committee Assignments for the 2019-2020 Legislative Session

SACRAMENTO – California Senate President pro Tempore, Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), today announced the Senate's leadership positions and committee assignments. These assignments reflect a diversity of skills and backgrounds needed to continue to move California forward and achieve the people's work.

Designated committee chairs and vice chairs will be formally adopted by the Senate in January 2019.

Senate Leadership Positions

- Senator Robert M. Hertzberg (D-Los Angeles), Senate Majority Leader.
- Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), Assistant Majority Leader.
- Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley), Majority Whip.
- Senator Maria Elena Durazo (D-Los Angeles) and Senator Scott D. Wiener (D-San Francisco), Assistant Majority Whips.
- Senator Connie M. Leyva (D-Chino), Democratic Caucus Chair.

Standing Committees

Agriculture

- Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), Chair.
- Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita), Vice Chair.

Appropriations

- Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D-La Cañada-Flintridge), Chair.
- Senator Pat C. Bates (R-Laguna Niguel), Vice Chair.

Banking and Financial Institutions

- Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena), Chair.
- Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Brea), Vice Chair.

Budget and Fiscal Review

- Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), Chair.
- Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Tehama), Vice Chair.

Business, Professions and Economic Development

- Senator Steven M. Glazer (D-Contra Costa), Chair.
- Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar), Vice Chair.

Education

- Senator Connie M. Leyva (D-Chino), Chair.
- Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita), Vice Chair.

Elections and Constitutional Amendments

- Senator Thomas J. Umberg (D-Santa Ana), Chair.
- Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Tehama), Vice Chair.

Energy, Utilities and Communications

- Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego), Chair.
- Senator John M. W. Moorlach (R-Costa Mesa), Vice Chair.

Environmental Quality

- Senator Benjamin Allen (D-Santa Monica), Chair.
- Senator Pat C. Bates (R-Laguna Niguel), Vice Chair.

Governance and Finance

- Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), Chair.
- Senator John M. W. Moorlach (R-Costa Mesa), Vice Chair.

Governmental Organization

- Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa), Chair.
- Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita), Vice Chair.

Health

- Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), Chair.
- Senator Jeff Stone (R-Temecula), Vice Chair.

Housing (new committee)

- Senator Scott D. Wiener (D-San Francisco), Chair.
- Senator Mike Morrell (R-Inland Empire), Vice Chair.

Human Services

- Senator Melissa Hurtado (D-Sanger), Chair.
- Senator Jeff Stone (R-Temecula), Vice Chair.

Insurance

- Senator Susan Rubio (D-Baldwin Park), Chair.
- Senator Brian W. Jones (R-San Marcos), Vice Chair.

Judiciary

- Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara), Chair.
- Senator Andreas Borgeas (R-Fresno), Vice Chair.

Labor, Public Employment and Retirement (new committee)

- Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo), Chair.
- Senator Mike Morrell (R-Inland Empire), Vice Chair.

Legislative Ethics

• Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), Chair.

Natural Resources and Water

- Senator Henry Stern (D-Canoga Park), Chair.
- Senator Brian W. Jones (R-Santee), Vice Chair.

Public Safety

- Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley), Chair.
- Senator John M. W. Moorlach (R-Costa Mesa), Vice Chair.

Rules

- Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), Chair.
- Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita), Vice Chair.

Transportation (new committee)

- Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), Chair.
- Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield), Vice Chair.

Veterans Affairs

- Senator Bob Archuleta (D-Pico Rivera), Chair.
- Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield), Vice Chair.

Budget Sub-Committees

Budget Subcommittee #1 on Education

• Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside), Chair.

Budget Subcommittee #2 on Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy and Transportation

• Senator Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont), Chair.

Budget Subcommittee #3 on Health and Human Services

• Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), Chair.

Budget Subcommittee #4 on State Administration and General Government

• Senator Maria Elena Durazo (D-Los Angeles), Chair.

Budget Subcommittee #5 on Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary

• Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley), Chair.

Full committee membership will be announced at a later date.

###

Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: www.senate.ca.gov/Atkins.