SB 268 (Mendoza)

As Amended Proposed to be Amended

LOS ANGELES COUNTY METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS Fact Sheet

SUMMARY

SB 268 provides for proportional representation within the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Board of Directors (MTA Board). This bill ensures that Board member seats fairly represent all areas of Los Angeles County when allocating the distribution of local (approximately \$2.6 billion annually), state, and federal funds, as well as the organizing and delivery of transportation and transit services.

PROBLEM

As the regional transportation planner for all of Los Angeles County, MTA serves the more than 9.6 million people – nearly one-third of California's residents – that live, work, and play within its 1,433-square-mile service area. MTA develops and oversees transportation plans, policies, and funding programs, both short-term and long-range solutions, which address the County's increasing mobility, accessibility, and environmental needs. It is critical that the MTA Board serves the needs of residents throughout the entire county.

Under the current distribution of MTA Board members, the 87 cities, outside the City of Los Angeles, which represent 52% of the county's total population, only represent 31% of the MTA Board. The current distribution of the MTA Board is unfair, and has resulted in uneven allocation of resources and services.

This bill ensures the distribution of the MTA Board fairly represents the entire County to improve the County's ability to develop a regional transit plan that meets the needs of all county residents.

CURRENT LAW

Under current law, the County Transportation Commissions Act provides for the creation of county transportation commissions in the Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Ventura, with various powers and duties relative to transportation planning and funding.

Los Angeles MTA is the successor agency to the Southern California Rapid Transit District and the Los Angeles County Transportation Commission, and provides transportation planning, programming, and operations in the County of Los Angeles. Under current law, the authority is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors, including the Mayor of the City of Los Angeles, two public members and one Los Angeles City Council Member appointed by the Mayor, four members selected by the Los Angeles County City Selection Committee, the five members of the Los Angeles Board of Supervisors (BOS), and a non-voting member appointed by the Governor.

THIS BILL

- Reduces the number of members of the BOS from 5 to 2 members and directs one supervisor to represent the largest population in the unincorporated area of the County of Los Angeles.
- Requires the Mayor of the City of Los Angeles to appoint 5 members of the City Council of Los Angeles who represent contiguous clusters of three council districts. The city council would determine contiguity.

- Includes seven members from the 87 cities other than the City of Los Angeles on the Board of Directors.
- Requires every appointee to serve a 4-year term without limitation or until the expiration of the term of his or her elected office.

STATUS

 Senate Committee on Transportation and Housing

SUPPORT

None

OPPOSITION

None

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Jessica Zaragoza Office of Senator Tony Mendoza (916) 651-4032





