

February 5, 2002

CONTACT: RICK JAGER /MARC LITTMAN MTA MEDIA RELATIONS

(213) 922-2707/922-2700
WWW.MTA.NET/PRESS/PRESSROOM
E-MAIL: mediarelations@mta.net

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## MTA HONORS THE EFFORTS OF 68 TOP TRANSIT OPERATION EMPLOYEES WITH "BEST OF THE BEST" AWARDS

The top one percent of MTA's 6,500-strong Transit Operations force were honored recently as the "Best of the Best – MTA's Brightest Stars" at a banquet in Universal City sponsored by MTA Transit Operations, Risk Management and the Office of System Safety and Security.

"Our bus and rail operators and mechanics are this region's unsung heroes," said MTA Board Chairman John Fasana. "Through a maze of traffic, tough streets that get even more dangerous in the rain, whatever conditions present themselves all hours of the day and night, they get our passengers to their destination safely. And these individuals deliver that service without an accident or a single complaint from the public we serve."

"On behalf or the MTA Board of Directors, I commend each of these outstanding employees for an extraordinary achievement of integrity, courage and dedication to public service," added Fasana.

"Best of the Best" awards, presented for the third year in a row, were given to 41 Metro Bus operators, two Metro Rail Green Line train operators, and nine top mechanics. The 52 honorees complied exemplary safety and attendance records and provided excellent customer service over a five-year span beginning in 1996.

More...

In addition, 15 Transit Operations employees received "Extra Mile" awards for their acts of courage, selflessness and extraordinary service.

"The awards are evidence that the MTA is on its way to becoming a world-class transportation agency," said MTA Deputy CEO john Catoe. "And we will get there by being committed to excellence and providing good service just like the 'Best of the Best' we honor here."

To qualify as "Best of the Best," operators must have recorded no customer complaints, no lost-time injuries, no traffic accidents and no long-term leaves for the past five years. Mechanics must have had perfect attendance, no lost-time injuries and no disciplinary actions for the past five years.

"'Best of the Best' is an organization-wide commitment at the MTA to a never-ending improvement process," said Fasana.

"Best of the Best" awards went to the following MTA mechanics:

To Chau, (Los Angeles Division 1)

Enrique Tovar (Cypress Park Division 3)

Arthur Winston (Arthur Winston Division 5)

Ted Loyo (West Hollywood Division 7)

Ike Alison (West San Fernando Valley Division 8)

Francisco Guzman (El Monte Division 9)

Linda Burns (South Bay Division 18)

Max Duran (Non Revenue Vehicles) Robert Kang, (Los Angeles RRC).

"Best of the Best awards for Metro Rail train operators went to:

Donald A. Griffin and William Jarvis (Metro Green Line)

## "Best of the Best awards for MTA Bus Operators went to the following:

Alvin J. Benard (Los Angeles Division 2)

Rick V. Brown, William Padilla, Roberto Ramirez, Delfino C. Rodriguez, Margaret J. Sifuentes, and Robert A. Wageman (Cypress Park Division 3)

Douglas Y. Park, Edmundo Poblano, Yuko Sao, Varena Stewart, (Arthur Winston Division 5 – South Central LA)

Johnny M. Hardwick (Venice Division 6)

Rodolfo U. Cortez, Hardie Gillie, Ernie A. Vasquez (West Hollywood Division 7)

Dale K. Aleshire, Kuoc L. Chu, Albert R. Gallardo, Alexander L. Gamboa, Edward Garcia, Roy Hawes, Richard A. Lopez, George E. Novelo, Redro L. Perez, David I. Singer, Earl J. Weingartner, (El Monte Division 9)

James E. Berry, Sergio F. Chavez, Teofilo Pacheco, Barron T. Simon (East LA Division 10)

Victor L. Arriola, Marcial Blanco, Raul A. Briones, Thomas R. Cowan, Carlos H. Iglesias, Arthur B. Lloyd, and Louis G. Lozano (East San Fernando Valley Division 15)

Frank R. Aguilar, James E. Drain, Donald R. Dube, Gene E. Freeman, and Khanh D. Trinh (Southbay Division 18)

## "Extra Mile" awards were received by:

Francisco Guzman (El Monte Division 9)

David Klinkenborg, Alan Wong and Doug Creveling (East LA Division 10)

Laureen Lemon and Michael Walton (Arthur Winston Division 5 -- South Central LA)

More...

Page 4-4-4
"Best of the Best"

Alice Gates, (West Hollywood Division 7)

Dhammika Kahanda, Mark Holland and Clyde Berry (El Monte Division 9)

Miriam Pereira (East San Fernando Valley Division 15)

Louvenia Harris (Southbay Division 18)

Pam Engelke (MTA Safety Manager), Monique Ramos (MTA Administrative Analyst) and Steve Rank (MTA Transportation Supervisor).

# # #

Editors Note: Various group photos are available on MTA's pressroom web page and can be downloaded at <a href="https://www.mta.net/press/pressroom">www.mta.net/press/pressroom</a>.

MTA-012